Our Board

Dr David Tipene-Leach - Kaihautū/Chairperson
Ngāti Kahungunu, Ngāti Kere, MBChB, MCCM (NZ), FRNZCGP, Te Panekiritanga o Te Reo Dr David Tipene-Leach, or DTL as he is known by many, is a GP known for his innovative public health projects on prevention of long-term conditions such as diabetes and sudden unexplained death in infancy.  When he...
Dr Curtis Walker - Kaihautu Tuarua/Deputy Chairperson
Ko Whakatōhea rāua ko Ngāti Porou ngā iwi. Formerly a veterinarian, I retrained in human medicine and qualified from the University of Auckland in 2007. I started work as a House Officer at Waikato hospital and commenced internal medicine training there before moving to Palmerston North and then...
Dr Sarah Sciascia - Mema o Te Poari
Dr Sarah Sciascia; Ko Ngāti Maniapoto te iwi, Ko Ngāti Te Puta-i-te-muri te hapū. Sarah is a General Practitioner for Ora Toa PHO, of Te Runanga o Ngāti Toa Rangatira, located at Takapūwāhia Marae. She was awarded the Peter Anyon prize as a first year GP trainee with the RNZCGP, and achieved...
Baden Vertongen - Mema Poari/Board Member
Mr Baden Vertongen (Ngāti Raukawa) has a Master of Science (Zoology / Ecology - Massey University) and a law degree (Otago University).  Mr Vertongen was admitted to practice as a Barrister and Solicitor of the High Court of New Zealand in 2004.  Mr Vertongen is a current board member for the...
Chayce Glass - Te Oranga Representative
CHAYCE GLASS Role: Tumuaki Year: TI Medical School: Wellington Medical School Iwi: Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Wai Contact Email: teoranga.tumuaki@gmail.com   E ngā mana, e ngā reo, e ngā karangatia o te motu, nei rā te mihi ki a koutou He uri au no Te Tai Tokerau. Ko Ngāpuhi rāua ko Ngāti Wai ōku iwi. Ko...

View the history
& whakapapa
of Te ORA
read more

Te ORA events

read more

Hui-a-Tau 2020

Read More>

Te ORA Awards

read more