The Royal Australasian College of Medical Administrators (RACMA)

RACMA is unique as a provider of medical management and leadership qualifications as it is the only specialist medical educator whose programs are recognised for the granting of Specialist Registration. Put simply, RACMA offers Medical Leadership Education by Doctors for Doctors who want to influence the health outcomes of many.

History of RACMA

The Royal Australasian College of Medical Administrators (RACMA) was founded in 1968 in recognition of the emergence of medical administration as a specialty in its own right. It was established with the aim of promoting and advancing the study of health services management by medical practitioners.

The Articles of Association were adopted on 21 March 1967. The Founding Convocation and inauguration of the (then) Australian College of Medical Administrators was held at The Royal Australasian College of Surgeons, Melbourne on 29 and 30 May, 1968. There were 279 founding Fellows.

On 6 August 1979, His Excellency Sir Zelman Cowan, Governor General of the Commonwealth of Australia, advised that Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II was pleased to give approval for the granting of the prefix ‘Royal’ to the Australian College of Medical Administrators. 

The College was recognised by the National Specialist Qualification Advisory Committee in 1980 as the appropriate examining body for the new specialty of medical administration. Hence, the Fellowship is a nationally recognised specialist qualification.

In August, 1998, when links with New Zealand were formally established, the College changed its name to The Royal Australasian College of Medical Administrators. RACMA has also formed an affiliation with the Hong Kong College of Community Medicine (HKCCM). 

Training for RACMA

The Fellowship Training Program offered by RACMA is accredited by the Medical Council of New Zealand and Medical Board of Australia. Fellows of our College are recognised as medical specialists.

RACMA is committed to achieving excellence in the Speciality of Medical Administration in Australia, New Zealand and the Asia-Pacific Region in order to enhance and maintain high standards of health care across the region.

 For further information on RACMA’s Fellowship Training Program, please click here.

Medical Leadership Scholarship for Te ORA Members 

Together, RACMA and Te ORA are committed to developing Medical Leaders and Managers among the Māori medical community.

As a result, RACMA is offering a full scholarship to a Te ORA Member for its 2022 Leadership for Clinicians Program in Delivery Period Two from August to November this year. The 2022 Program has two delivery modes: blended and fully online. Timetables are available on the RACMA website. (Please note, the scholarship recipient can choose to attend any cohort)

The Leadership for Clinicians program aims to provide medical practitioners with the fundamental knowledge, practical skills and confidence to become a Medical Manager or Leader and play a central role in decision making within their healthcare and community services. The program explores six key study themes:

1. Understanding our healthcare system

2. Clinical governance and medicolegal awareness

3. Medical workforce management and engagement

4. Leading strategy and change

5. Financial governance

6. Professionalism, leadership and culture

Those who successfully complete the program may apply to elect to Associate Fellowship of RACMA.

To be eligible to participate in the Leadership for Clinicians Program you must have:

· a minimum of three years direct patient care;

· current medical registration in New Zealand; and

· be in good standing with your employer and other medical speciality colleges.

Applying for the Scholarship

To be eligible for the Leadership for Clinicians Scholarship you MUST be a Te ORA Member. To apply, please complete the online form HERE. You will also need to upload your current CV within the form.

Applications close: 30 April 2022

For more information about the Leadership for Clinicians Program visit: or if you have any questions about the scholarship and application process please email

Eligibility and Criteria for Specialist Training

To be eligible to apply for specialist training in the RACMA Fellowship Training Program (FTP), you MUST meet all the following criteria:

1. Hold an undergraduate medical degree from a recognised Australian or New Zealand university (or equivalent); and

2. Have current medical registration with the Medical Board of Australia or the Medical Council of New Zealand; and

3. Demonstrate a minimum of three (3) years full time clinical experience involving direct patient care; and

4. Be in a RACMA accredited training post or be in a post that is likely to qualify as a training post.

Please click HERE for further information on accreditation requirements.

Want to become a member?

Get in touch, or register now