About Te ORA

Te ORA is a unique organisation representing Māori medical students and doctors working as clinicians, researchers and teachers. 

Te Ohu Rata O Aotearoa

Te ORA represents the majority of the Māori medical workforce.  Te ORA’s vision is to provide Māori medical leadership to the health sector to effect Māori health development.


Te ORA’s mission is to enable key strategies including:

  • increasing the Māori medical workforce towards population parity
  • improving access of Māori to medical and health education, research and knowledge
  • influencing the agenda for Māori health development
  • developing and engaging with clinical leaders to support long term responsiveness to Māori health

Te ORA has formalised relationships with key health organisations, participates in key health committees, provides secretariat support to projects, sponsors summer studentships and provides Māori clinical advice and leadership across the broader New Zealand health sector.


Dr Maarire Goodall

Ngai Tahu

Dr Maarire Goodall graduated MB;ChB. from the University of New Zealand in 1959 (UNZ was disbanded soon afterwards!), served in Wakaari & Dunedin Hospitals, then studied carcinogenesis and endocrinology and graduated with an M.D. research degree in 1963 from Otago University, becoming ‘Dr Doctor’ to some (but Moeraki elders always called him Dr Spock). Read more…

Dr Paratene Ngata

Ngāti Ira, Hauiti, Ngāti Porou

General Practitioner, Uawa. Founding Member Te ORA and Te Ngākau Mentoring Programme, Champion Health Scientist, Husband of Ngaroma, Father, Grandfather, Friend. MBChB, Dip ComH, Hon. LLD,  DFRNZGP.
Te ORA Maarire Goodall Award 1997; Ngati Porou Achievement Award, 2000;Public Health Champion of the Year; 2000. Read more…

Ngā Mema o te Poari

Dr David Tipene-Leach

Ngāti Kahungunu, Ngāti Kere, MBChB, MCCM (NZ), FRNZCGP, Te Panekiritanga o Te Reo

Dr Curtis Walker

Kaihautū Tuarua/Deputy Chairperson
Ko Whakatōhea rāua ko Ngāti Porou ngā iwi

Dr Sarah Sciascia

Mema o Te Poari/Board Member
Ko Ngāti Maniapoto te iwi, Ko Ngāti Te Puta-i-te-muri te hapū

Baden Vertongen

Mema o Te Poari/Board Member
Ngāti Raukawa


Mema o Te Poari/Board Member

Chayce Glass

Te Oranga Representative
Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Wai

Te ORA Kaimahi

Te Oraiti Reedy

 (2018 – Current) Tumuaki, Te ORA CEO
Ko Hikurangi te maunga, Ko Waiapu te awa, Ko Horouta te Waka, Ko Rongohaere, Ko Hiruharama nga marae, Ko Te Aitanga o Materoa te Hapu, Ko Ngati Porou te iwi.

He mihi maioha ki a koutou i runga i te aroha o rātou mā kua whetūrangitia, nō reira, rātou ki a rātou moe mai rā. He mihi nunui ki a tātou e hāpai nei i ō rātou wawata, tūmanako hoki, tēnā tātou katoa. 
My role is to lead the development and implementation of Te ORA strategic plan and programme of work that focuses on supporting individual practitioners, and our partner organisations achieve cultural competence, safety and health equity goals.
Te ORA acknowledges the expertise and commitment of our Māori medical practitioners, health academics and researchers, who continue to highlight for all of us the importance of cultural competence and cultural safety in achieving equity and improving health outcomes for Māori. 
My main interest outside of work is my family life, mostly in watching my teenaged son grow, and being involved in all activities that entails.  From his schooling activities, where he is becoming a young leader, to his passion for football, where he is learning the value of hard work, discipline and perseverance.  It all involves a lot of fundraising, community co-operation, and of course staunch support on game day!  

Te Aniwa Reedy

(2014 – Current) Kaiwhakahaere, Te ORA Manager
Ko Hikurangi te maunga, Ko Waiapu te awa, Ko Horouta te Waka, Ko Rongohaere, Ko Hiruharama nga marae, Ko Te Aitanga o Materoa te Hapu, Ko Ngati Porou te iwi

Te Aniwa has three stunning children Te Ngarunui (11), Te Amorangi (9) and Hikurangi-Waiapu (7).  As a whanau they enjoy waka ama and all the babies paddle for PCKC, kick boxing with the Alpha gym, rugby for U12 Tawa Ninjas, netball for Redwood School, softball for Porirua City United.  The whanau also does whanau kapa haka, and recently started learning how to dance with Rarotongan Group Enuamanu Atiu anau.

Te Aniwa has been an administrator in some degree for the past 25 years.  The majority of her work has been supporting people who work to improve better outcomes for Māori.  Te Aniwa has worked in diverse areas such as The Education Review Office, The Institution of Professional Engineers, Victoria University of Wellington, Te Puni Kokiri and PHARMAC. 

The Whakapapa of the Tokotoko

The whakapapa or story of the contemporary Māori doctors began over 100 years ago when Sir Maui Pomare (Te Atiawa) graduated from the American Missionary College in Chicago. 

Four years later Sir Peter Buck –Te Rangihiroa (Ngāti Mutunga/Ngāti Tama) – became the first Māori graduate from the Otago Medical School followed by Tutere Wi Repa (Ngāti Porou) in 1908.   The final member of this famous quartet was Pohau (Ned) Ellison (Ngāi Tahu) who graduated in 1919. 

They were the original members of the Māori Medical Practitioners Association, and began the public and community health efforts to improve the health of their people.  

Alongside Sir James Carroll (Ngāti Kahungunu), Sir Apirana Ngata (Ngāti Porou) and other members of the Young Māori Party, they became the driving forces behind the Māori renaissance and development. 

Taken from Dr Paratene Ngata oration given to the annual conference of the RNZCGP, September 2002.

A group of Māori medical practitioners met in 1995 to establish Te Ohu Rata o Aotearoa. The inaugural annual meeting (Hui-ā-Tau) took place in 1996, where a constitution was ratified, an executive elected and the legal status of an incorporated society obtained. 

The second Hui-ā-tau was held in early 1998. The first Scientific Conference was held in conjunction with this annual meeting to promote information exchange and present member’s scientific and research work.  Hui-ā-Tau and Scientific conferences have been held annually since then.  

The Tokotoko

The serpent that forms the hand piece represents the medical serpent. 

The top carved figure is Sir Maui Pomare – 1st Māori Doctor who graduated in the USA 1898. 

The 2nd carved figure is Te Rangi Hiroa – Sir Peter Buck – 2nd Māori Doctor and 1st Māori Doctor to Graduate from NZ Otago in 1904. 

The 3rd carved figure is Tutere Wi Repa – the 3rd Māori Doctor 

The 4th carved figure is Pohau Ellison the 4th Māori Doctor 

Then the next carved figure is a Tāne figure and represents all male Māori Doctors 

The bottom carved figure is a wahine figure representing all female doctors and the 1st Female Māori doctor was Rina Moore nee Rophia graduated 1947 

Below these figures is the pātiki pattern which represents the whakapapa of Māori doctors. 

Kaiwhakairo – Abel Vaireka,  Te Ātiawa, Kuki Airani