NZ’s Māori Centre of Research Excellence 2016 – 2020
The vision for NPM 2016-2020 is: “Māori leading New Zealand into the future. Our research realises Māori aspirations for positive engagement in national life, enhances our excellence in Indigenous scholarship and provides solutions to major challenges facing humanity in local and global settings.”

Our proposed platform of research envisages a suite of integrated, complementary research projects spread within our three thematic areas and threaded through with a vigorous programme of Te Reo me Ngā Tikanga Māori led by our Tohunga Reo, Professors Wharehuia Milroy and Tīmoti Kāretu.

The three research themes as stated in our pre-proposal are:

  • Whai Rawa – Research for Māori Economies (led by Associate Professor Mānuka Hēnare and Dr Shawn Awatere)
  • Te Tai Ao – Natural Environment (led by Professors’ Helen Moewaka Barnes and Michael Walker)
  • Mauri Ora – Human flourishing (led by Professor Linda Waimarie Nikora and Associate Professor Papaarangi Reid)

To read more please click here>>

Follow Along

Sign up below to join our ePanui mailing list

Want to become a member?

Get in touch, or register now