Ngā Tohu Manaaki

o Te ORA

Ngā Tohu Manaaki o Te ORA/Te ORA Awards

Te ORA has a host of Awards which are designed to support Māori Medical Practitioners along their Medical Careers. Please click on the corresponding link to find out more information including how to nominate or apply for Awards.  Awards are presented at the Annual Te ORA Hui ā-Tau & Scientific Conference.

Te ORA Awards for Medical Practitioners

Maarire Goodall Award, acknowledges and honours long service and unrecognised commitment to Māori health by a Māori health worker.

Ngākau Ora Award, established in honour of the late Dr Paratene Ngata recognizes those who have given a high level of service, mentorship and support to Māori doctors and medical students.

Iwi Health Award, established in honour of the late Dr Tony Ruakere and acknowledges a Maori Medical Practitioner who has dedicated their services to Iwi Health.


Te ORA Tauira Awards

Ngā Rangatira Matahīapo Hauroa Award, awarded to a Māori doctor who has been identified by the Te Oranga members as someone who has contributed to their learning. This recipient will portray characteristics of general excellence, role modelling, commitment to Hauora Māori and whakaaro Māori while also actively inspiring Māori medical students to reach their full potential.

Te Tohu Whaioranga Rangahau – Te Tohu Whaioranga Hatutanga, Te ORA and PHARMAC student award for Excellence in Leadership. This award is for Community Leadership excellence, where the student has demonstrated the most outstanding contribution and community leadership during the year.

Te ORA/PHARMAC – Te Tohu Whaioranga Rangahau, Te ORA and PHARMAC student award for Excellence in Research. This award for Excellence in research will have a pharmaceuticals focus and will have been selected by PHARMAC and Te ORA prior to applications being made available to students.

Te ORA/PHARMAC – Internship, Te ORA and PHARMAC offers an annual intern placement. These placements maybe based on the outputs from the Te ORA/PHARMAC Hauora Māori areas, which have been raised during the clinical hui between Te ORA and PHARMAC during the year.  More information to follow shortly.


Want to become a member?

Get in touch, or register now